Pseudo-Hippy Zucchini Bread

I’d apologize for my long absence, but, well, ain’t nobody reading this.  Also, I had to binge-watch the new season of Orange is the New Black.  Also, I work a lot of Sundays.  In the meantime, here is a yummly recipe for yummly zucchini bread.  I call it pseudo-hippy because it’s half coconut flour half regular people flour.  What, I had to use it up. Also, I’ve experimented with this recipe before and I love how moist the bread turns out.

Image

Pseudo-Hippy Zucchini Bread

  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 3/4 cup canola/vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinammon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/3 cup walnuts
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Combine oil, sugar, eggs, and vanilla until pale and creamy.  Stir in zucchini.  In a separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients.  Add the dry ingredients to the zucchini mixture in sections, until just combined.  Scrape into prepared bread loaf pan (spray with oil or smear with butter).  Bake 50-60 minutes for a large loaf, 35-40 minutes for smaller loaves.  I err on the side of caution and wait 50 minutes for  a large loaf check.  As soon as a toothpick inserted into the center comes up clean (no unbaked batter!), I call it good and take it out of the oven, and it is delicious and moist and warm!  I recommend topping with mascarpone and/or apple butter.

Leave a Reply

